Council for Education in the Commonwealth (CEC)

The Council is a UK Parliament-based nongovernmental organisation in London, and provides a forum for activating interest in and support for education in the Commonwealth. It seeks to mobilise opinion and action in the UK and elsewhere on behalf of Commonwealth education co-operation. Membership is open to individuals and organisations. All Commonwealth high commissioners accredited to London are honorary members.

Address: Commonwealth House, 7 Lion Yard, Tremadoc Road, London SW4 7NQ, UK
Tel: +44 1277 212357 | Fax: +44 1277 212357


Foundation: 1959


Executive Chair: Sally Keeble; Deputy Executive Chairs: Roselle Antloine, John Oxenham; Secretary: Kees Maxey; Honorary Treasurer: Richard Mawditt. The Council also has three parliamentary chairs (Tim Boswell MP, Simon Hughes MP, David Lammy MP) and one vacancy, and four patrons (Lord Judd, Lord Luce, Lord McNally and Lady Morris)


An annual Gladwyn lecture by an eminent expert on an educational topic of relevance to the Commonwealth. Three or four other meetings on educational issues are held each year. The Council lobbies both the British Government and the Commonwealth regarding the importance of education for the children and people of the Commonwealth. It issues two to three Commonwealth Education News per year.
These and other documents are made available through the Council’s website, which is regularly updated.