Northwest University Kano


Northwest University, Kano, was established in 2012 by the Governor of Kano State, His Excellency Eng. Rabi’u Musa Kwankwaso. The University commenced academic programmes on 10 March 2013 with 26 degree programmes in 14 departments in the Faculties of Education, Humanities, Science and Social and Management Sciences.

Presently the University has an additional Faculty of Basic Medical Sciences which offers BSc degrees in Physiology and Biochemistry. The University has three campuses, namely the Main, City and Kwanar Dawaki campuses. In addition, the Department of Library and Information Sciences is located at the Murtala Mohammed Library Complex.

The Main campus houses the senate and faculty buildings (with ongoing construction), staff residential quarters, cafeteria and a clinic.

City campus comprises the four faculties, the Institute of Continuing Education, the Centre for Entrepreneurship and Development, the General Studies Unit, student affairs division, university library and a clinic.

At Kwanar Dawaki the Public Health and Diagnostic Institute and the Faculty of Basic Medical Sciences are located.

Mohammed Rabiu Musa Kwankwaso Governor

Mohammed Rabiu Musa Kwankwaso – Governor

The University, under the leadership of Ag. Vice-Chancellor Prof. Danjuma A. Maiwada, is in its third year and has a student population of 3,896, and a staff strength of 564 comprising teaching and non-teaching staff.

The vision of the University is to be a world-class citadel of learning that provides practical education directed towards the training of highly knowledgeable, skilled and disciplined citizens.

« Back to Nigeria

Contact us