Commonwealth Scholarship Commission in the United Kingdom (CSC)

The CSC is responsible for managing the United Kingdom’s contribution to the Commonwealth Scholarship and Fellowship Plan (CSFP). Since its establishment by Act of Parliament in 1959, more than 16,000 Commonwealth citizens have held awards in the UK. The CSC’s secretariat is provided by the Association of Commonwealth Universities; financial and welfare support for scholars is provided by the British Council.

c/o Association of Commonwealth Universities, Woburn House, 20-24 Tavistock Square, London WC1H 9HF, UK

Tel: +44 20 7380 6700 | Fax: +44 20 7387 2655
Email: |

Foundation: 1959


The CSC makes available seven types of award: scholarships for PhD research; scholarships for Master’s study; Shared Scholarships (Master’s awards selected and jointly funded by universities); Academic Fellowships for staff serving in developing country universities; Split-site Scholarships for PhD students to spend up to one year in the UK; Professional Fellowships for mid-career professionals in developing countries; and Distance Learning Scholarships for developing country students to study Master’s degree courses. The CSC also nominates UK students for scholarships to study in other Commonwealth countries as part of the CSFP.