University of Nairobi

A modernistic wildlife scupture on the University of Nairobi campus

The University of Nairobi, the premier institution of tertiary education in Kenya, offers over 300 academic programmes spread over three faculties, 17 schools and six institutes. Similar to most dynamic institutions, the University faces challenges which it continues to systematically address within the context of its vision and mission. It is committed to quality service hinged on the observance of the rule of law, skilled human resources, hard work, transparency, accountability, fairness and timely service delivery.

Excellence in teaching, research and learning, good governance and management remains our focus.


A world-class University committed to scholarly excellence.


To provide quality university education and training, and to embody the aspirations of the Kenyan people and global community through the creation, preservation, integration, transmission and utilisation of knowledge.

Student and Staff Population

Currently the University of Nairobi has 63,846 students, of which 11,051 are postgraduates pursuing different degrees and diplomas on a full time and part time basis through the following methods: face-to-face, distance learning, e-learning and open learning.

Today the University of Nairobi has the largest concentration of highly qualified scholars which constitute about fifty per cent of professors in the country. It has been and continues to be a centre of intellectual life, a locus of research activities extending the boundaries of knowledge, a resource for professional development, and a key player in the growing global network of scholarship.


The University of Nairobi continues to contribute to the development of high-level human resources in the country and indeed the entire world. At the moment the University graduates over 12,000 graduands annually in a wide range of courses.

Expansion of Infrastructure

The University of Nairobi has remained the University of Choice to many aspiring applicants and admits the highly qualified applicants in disciplines such as medicine, pharmacy, dental sciences, veterinary and agriculture, law and business among other disciplines.

Admission Requirements

The admission requirements are set out and approved by the Senate. Admission is open to students from Commonwealth countries and beyond.


  • College of Agriculture and Veterinary Sciences
  • College of Architecture and Engineering
  • College of Biological and Physical Sciences
  • College of Health Sciences
  • College of Education and External Studies
  • College of Humanities and Social Sciences.
« Back to Kenya

Contact us