Universities and Colleges in New Zealand

Universities New Zealand recognises eight government-funded universities with a total student enrolment of about 180,000 in 2011: the Auckland University of Technology; Lincoln University (near Christchurch, South Island); Massey University (campuses in Auckland, Palmerston North and Wellington); University of Auckland; University of Canterbury (at Christchurch, South Island);University of Otago (main campus at Dunedin, South Island); University of Waikato (main campus at Hamilton); and Victoria University of Wellington.

There are many colleges of education across the country and the University of Waikato has its own School of Education. The tertiary sector also includes 20 institutes of technology and polytechnics, all offering degree courses. The Maori Education Trust – established in 1961 as the Maori Education Foundation – awards scholarships and grants to encourage Maori into tertiary education. The female-male ratio for gross enrolment in tertiary education is 1.5:1 (2012). There is virtually no illiteracy among people aged 15-24.

Warning: Division by zero in /home/cedol/public_html/wp-content/themes/cedol2013/content-cwn.php on line 46
Universities and Colleges in New Zealand
Auckland University of Technology
Lincoln University
Massey University
Nelson Marlborough Institute of Technology
University of Auckland
University of Canterbury
University of Otago
University of Waikato
Victoria University of Wellington