Education in Fiji

Following the decisions taken by the Commonwealth Ministerial
Action Group on 14 March 2014, Fiji’s full suspension from the
Commonwealth was changed to suspension from the councils of
the Commonwealth

Joined Commonwealth: 1970 (rejoined in 1997 after ten-year lapse)

Population: 875,000 (2012)

GDP p.c. growth: 1.0% p.a. 1990–2012

UN HDI 2012: World ranking 96

Net primary enrolment: 98.7% (2012)

Net secondary enrolment: 83% (2012)

Gross tertiary enrolment: 61.8% (2011)

Public spending on education was 4.1 per cent of GDP in 2011.

Education remains critical in the development of the rural areas, and upgrading of rural schools and facilities is a priority.

The Ministry of Education is responsible education in Fiji, along with two commissions: the Higher Education Commission (HEC), and the Technical and Vocational Education and Training Commission (TVET). There are almost 1000 schools in the country, of which almost 750 are primary schools and 150 are secondary schools. As well as this there are five further education institutions: the University of Fiji, the Fiji School of Medicine, the Fiji Institute of Technology, the Teachers College and the University of the South Pacific.

There are ten years of compulsory education starting at the age of six. Primary school comprises six years and secondary seven, with cycles of four and three years. Some 96.5 per cent of pupils complete primary school (2011). The school year starts in January.

The main campuses of the regional University of the South Pacific (founded 1968) and the Fiji National University are located in Suva.
The University of the South Pacific has further campuses in Fiji, at Labasa and Lautoka. The Fiji National University, formally established in 2010, was formed by the merger of seven tertiary institutions: the College of Advanced Education; College of Agriculture (Koronivia campus); Institute of Technology (Samabula campus, Suva); Lautoka Teachers College (Lautoka campus); School of Medicine (Suva); School of Nursing (Suva); and Training and Productivity Authority, and has many campuses across the country.
The oldest of these institutions, the School of Medicine (established in 1885) and the School of Nursing (1893), were merged in 2010 to become the Fiji National University College of Medicine, Nursing and Health Sciences.