Governance in Malta

The Ministry for Education Employment and the Family is responsible for basic and higher education in Malta. There are 10 public primary schools and two secondary schools in the country, as well as three further education institutions: the University of Malta, the Institute of Tourism Studies and the Malta College of Arts Science and Technology.

The Foundation for Educational Services (FES) was established to support the activities of MEEF, with a remit to develop school curricula, create targeted educational programmes and publish research derived from its activities.

Ministry of Education and Employment


Tel: +356 2598 0000/2598 2463

Minister: Evarist Bartolo
Parliamentary secretary: Chris Agius

Governance in Malta
Malta Standards Authority
Ministry of Education, Employment and the Family