Universities and Colleges in Sri Lanka

The University Grants Commission (UGC) recognises 15 public universities and 17 higher education institutes, and there are four other public universities that come under other departments of government (2013). Leading universities include the University of Colombo, which was established – as University of Ceylon – in 1942 when the Ceylon Medical College (founded 1870) and Ceylon University College (1921) were merged; University of Kelaniya; University of Peradeniya; and Open University of Sri Lanka, which provides courses through distance learning. Technical colleges offer courses up to diploma level in engineering and business. The female-male ratio for gross enrolment in tertiary education is 1.7:1 (2012). Literacy among people aged 15-24 is 98 per cent (2010).

Warning: Division by zero in /home/cedol/public_html/wp-content/themes/cedol2013/content-cwn.php on line 46
Universities and Colleges in Sri Lanka
Aquinas College of Higher Studies
Centre for Policy Alternatives
Ceylon College of Physicians
Ceylon College of Physicians
Eastern University
In-Service Training Institute
Institute of Aesthetic Studies
Jaffna College
Open University of Sri Lanka
Point Pedro Institute of Development
Rajarata University of Sri Lanka
Sabaragamuwa University of Sri Lanka
School of Agriculture
South Eastern University of Sri Lanka
Sri Lanka Law College
University of Colombo
University of Jaffna
University of Kelaniya
University of Moratuwa
University of Peradeniya
University of Ruhuna
University of Sri Jayewardenepura
Uva Wellassa University
Wayamba University of Sri Lanka