Universities and Colleges in Singapore

The principal universities are the National University of Singapore (founded in 1905); Nanyang Technological University (1981, as Nanyang Technological Institute); Singapore Management University (2000); Singapore Institute of Technology (2009); and Singapore University of Technology and Design (inaugurated in May 2012). National University of Singapore has 36,000 students from 100 countries; Nanyang Technological University, 33,500; and Singapore Management University, some 7,200. SIM University, a private university founded in 2005, offers academic programmes aimed for working professionals. There are several other private universities, most of which are in partnership with business schools or technology institutes in Europe or the USA.

Other tertiary institutions include the National Institute of Education (founded 1950, as Teachers’ Training College, becoming part of Nanyang Technological University in 1991); Singapore Polytechnic (1954); Ngee Ann Polytechnic (1963); Temasek Polytechnic (1990);
Nanyang Polytechnic (1992); Institute of Technical Education (1992); and Republic Polytechnic (2002). Co-operation between industry and technological education is well developed, and retraining and education for older adults is an important goal.
There is virtually no illiteracy among people aged 15-24.

Warning: Division by zero in /home/cedol/public_html/wp-content/themes/cedol2013/content-cwn.php on line 46
Universities and Colleges in Singapore
Commonwealth Secretariat
Genome Institute of Singapore
HMI Institute of Health Sevices
Nanyang Polytechnic
Nanyang Technological University
National University of Singapore
Ngee Ann Polytechnic
Republic Polytechnic
SiM University
Singapore Institute of Architects
Singapore Management University
Singapore Polytechnic
Southeast Asian Ministers of Education Organization (SEAMEO) Regional Language Centre (RELC)
Temasek Polytechnic
The Institute of Engineers
University of Chicago Graduate School of Business