Governance in Saint Lucia

The St Lucian government spends around 25% of its national recurrent budget on education. St Lucia’s Ministry of Education and Culture works to provide students with technological resources, an up-to-date education sector and well-trained teachers and administrators. The ministry is divided into some 16 departments including policy and administration, school supervision and an early childhood sector. The Education Evaluation and Assessment Unit (EEAU) is responsible for the administration of all local exams and implements school based assessments in primary schools, with exam boards including the Caribbean Examination Council (CXC). The National Enrichment and Learning Unit (NELU) is a division of the ministry which provides community education in St Lucia, with courses such as English, IT, carpentry and human relations.

Ministry for Education, Human Resource Development and Labour



Tel: +1 758 468 5207

Minister: Dr Robert Kennedy Lewis

Permanent Secretary: Esther Lorraine Brathwaite

Governance in Saint Lucia
Ministry of Education and Culture